China and Macedonia agreed on Tuesday [28 November 2017] to advance cooperation on various fields such as infrastructure construction. The pledge came as Chinese Premier Li Keqiang and his Macedonian counterpart Zoran Zaev met on the sidelines of the sixth meeting of the heads of government of China and 16 Central and Eastern European Countries (CEEC)…Full Article: Nov 2017

Key Point

  • China hopes to develop Macedonia’s transportation infrastructure and digital economy.

ChinaAg Comments

  • Launched in April 2012, Cooperation between China and Central and Eastern European Countries (aka the 16+1 mechanism) serves to promote economic trade between participating European countries and China. The 16 CEE countries include Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Slovenia, Romania, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, and Slovakia. In 2012, China-CEE leaders met in Warsaw, followed by Bucharest (2013) and Belgrade (2014).
  • In 1993, Macedonia and the People’s Republic of China (PRC) formally established diplomatic ties. From January 1999 to June 2001, Macedonia broke off diplomatic relations with the PRC and established ties with Taiwan. In mid-June 2001, Macedonia re-established ties with the PRC.

Hong Kong Trends

Similar Posts by ChinaAg

Spread the word. Share this post!